Thursday, April 11, 2024

What Stalks Among Us


Super intriguing concept and unlike anything I've ever read before. On the surface it's a horror novel about two teens lost in a corn maze that keeps killing them as they try to escape. But below that it is so much more. Sadie and Logan skip their senior trip to King's Island and decide to drive around aimlessly, a favorite past time of theirs. While they haven't been friends for years, they got really close their senior year of high school and now the pair is inseparable. But there is a lot they don't know about each other and this twisty, messed up maze is going to bring a lot to the surface. Can they survive this maze? Can they trust each other? Time bending, heart pounding, generally creepy; this is a standout teen novel. 

Friday, April 5, 2024

Never Fall Again


Landry Hutton and her daughter have been living a quiet unassuming life in Gossamer Falls. Landry is an artist in residence at an exclusive resort and she will finally have enough money to build a house of their own. The contractor she chooses to build her house turns out to be a wonderful human as well as contractor. He takes Landry and her 5 year old daughter under his wing and has soon introduced her to his entire extended family. Landry ran from a troubled past and has no family to speak of so she is incredibly grateful. When a fire at the resort takes out most of her pottery inventory - she begins to wonder if it's an accident or if its personal. Good thing her contractor. neighbor/ former marine has her best interests at heart. Speaking of hearts - could what they've both been running from bring them together? Inspirational romance that isn't too preachy. I can't wait to read the rest in the series!

Tuesday, April 2, 2024

The Girl in the Thistles


The premise of this story (which is based on real events) is good. It's compelling and interesting. Unfortunately, I don't think the story was executed very well. The characters seemed very two dimensional and I didn't care all that much for any of them. They all lacked a spark to make them feel real and important. Emilie is a mixed blood. Her father is Scottish and her mother is Dakota. She straddles both worlds and loves them both pretty equally. When the US-Dakota War of 1862 erupts her clan is embroiled in it and her home is destroyed. Her father goes missing in the chaos and she is determined to find him. Again, the events are compelling, but Emilie is not. Very slow read. 

Thursday, March 28, 2024

Sand and Fire


The history and importance of an often overlooked and underappreciated landscape, the Pine Barrens of Wisconsin. Prior to reading this book I had never even heard of this area. This area is completely unique to North America and efforts are finally being made to maintain it and restore it to protect the fragile ecosystem and wildlife that lives there. Dave Peter does a great job describing the landscape, it's importance, early inhabitants, the fight to preserve it, and beauty of the area. There are many pictures to help illustrate his points. A small and important read. 

Wednesday, March 27, 2024

The Werewolf at Dusk


A quick but masterful graphic novel told as three short stories. The Werewolf at Dusk is about the changes an aging werewolf goes through. Still able to change at the full moon, yet hardly able to chase a squirrel or climb up stairs. A Walk in the Old City is about a shrink who loses his way at night. Attempting to psycho-analyze himself will not getting him out of the mess he stumbles across. The final story is The Tiger in Vogue which is a terrifyingly whimsical look at Hitler's rise to power in Germany. Unique and wonderful storytelling in that one. Fantastic illustrations grace the pages of all three stories. I wish it were longer! 

Help for the Haunted


My rating is really a 3.5. This book is perfect for fans of The Conjuring and suspense novels. Sylvie is the good daughter, she is the youngest of her parent's two kids and the one that can be counted on. Her parents are "helpers" they take demonic or spiritual cases and try to solve problems with prayer. As their notoriety grows across the country, things get harder at home. Her older sister Rose acts up and starts driving a wedge between their parents. When her parents are murdered in a church after meeting with a client they helped in the past, Sylvie is the key to the case. But what does she really remember. Told in alternating timelines between the past and the present; Help for the Haunted starts out pretty slow but the pace really picks up in the last third of the book. 

Tuesday, March 26, 2024

Raiders of the Lost Heart


This was a fun, steamy, romantic comedy perfect for fans of Indiana Jones, Romancing the Stone, and The Mummy. Corrie gets called out to her dream archaeological dig, the study of her life's work, and she finds out that the lead of the dig is the guy that broke her heart in grad school. She is beyond angry but surprised the attraction is still there. Against her better judgement she finds herself staying onsite because she will never be this close to finding the lost remains of her ancestor, Chimalli, an ancient warrior of the Aztec empire. The two keep finding themselves flirting with each other and soon enough they are sharing tents. Very steamy - I could have used a little more adventure however!