Friday, April 3, 2020

Magic Hour

Well written, but the plot was a little implausible to me. I went into this blind without reading the summary so I had no idea what I was getting into. Basically a small town sheriff from the outskirts of the Olympic National Forest discovers a small feral child holding a wolf pup. The girl hides, growls, bites, and doesn't know how to speak. Ellie is out of her depth so she calls her famous psychologist sister to come out and help work with this kid. They're trying to get her identified and find her family, because this kid has gone through so much trauma and needs all the help she can get. The sisters find themselves drawing closer to each other and find themselves head over heels over this mysterious wolf girl. Emotional, filled with small town gossip, budding relationships, family drama, and a quest for justice.

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

The Things We Do for Love

Saddened by their inability to have children, a couple gets divorced. Angie moves back to her family's hometown to help out with the family restaurant and get her mind off things. She discovers that the family business isn't doing too hot since her father died 6 months prior and she decides to put her marketing and advertising skills to use while her two older sisters work in the kitchen with their mother. One of the first changes she makes is hiring another waitress, much younger than the old and slow one they have now. She offers the job to Lauren. A high school senior from the bad part of town that has her eyes set on getting a full ride to college and making something of her life. Angie quickly becomes like a mother to Lauren taking her under her win. Then the unthinkable happens and Angie must decides if her heart can handle what's about to happen. Is she done running and is she ready to take a chance? Heartfelt and moving. Chick lit at it's finest.

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Incubus

There's only one word to describe this book. Tedious. A cool concept that faintly glittered through at times but was horrible overtaken by rambling. The story wandered all over the place and had constant diatribes about gardens, snack foods, furniture, gothic novels, and church pitch ins and other mundane shit, that made the story last even longer than it should have. And trust me this story lasted forever. I could not wait for it to be over. The premise was so cool, a bunch of women in this small town keep having erotic nightmares and weird shit is happening. Cool right? It's fucking buried in this novel. Five hours of my life that I will never get back!

Monday, March 30, 2020

Lady Almira and the Real Downton Abbey

A deeper look into one of the mistresses who "ran" Highclere Castle at the turn of the century and through World War I. Instantly recognizable as the setting of Downton Abbey one of the descendants and current occupants recounts some of the lost history of the estate. Lady Almira married the 5th Earl of Carnarvon and with it came the beautiful estate of Highclere. Lady Almira's family was a bit of a scandal BUT she was an heiress so her marrying into the family was a godsend for the estate. She knew how to throw lavish parties and always looked for a challenge. She turned the castle into a hospital during the war and considered it one of the highlights of her life. Her husband was infamous himself, he was the man who financed the King Tut excavation and discovery. A fascinating history that focuses more on the family than the house. There are a lot of parallels from the show to the real story which is cool. There are also TONS of photos which is nice. A must read for fans of Downton Abbey and Edwardian England!

Sunday, March 29, 2020

What Alice Forgot

People have been telling me for ages to read this book and I'm so mad that I waited so long to! It was wonderful! I couldn't put it down. The premise was unique and really make readers think about the last decade of their lives. Alice Love suffers a severe concussion at the gym and wakes up concerned for her baby. She's 29 and pregnant with her first baby. She's madly in love with her husband. Imagine her shock when she finds out she's actually almost 40, she has three kids AND she and Nick are in the middle of a really nasty divorce. What happened in the past decade? She discovers that she's turned into a person who she's not sure she likes or recognizes anymore. The amnesia can be a blessing or a curse, depending on how she handles it. Clever, witty, heartfelt, and wonderful. Besides Alice's rediscovery if her missing years, we also get two smaller story-lines that focus on Elizabeth (Alice's infertile sister) and Frannie (their adopted grandmother who may finally be finding a love of her own in the nursing homes). A must read!

Distant Shores

This is one of those books that I would probably appreciate a lot more in ten years. It's the story of a marriage slowly falling apart at the seams and a woman who finds herself "passionless" and tired of waiting around for "her turn." Her husband was a promising NFL quarterback who blew out his knee and became addicted to pain-pills. Over the years he's worked his way up being a sports newscaster  for different tv stations around the country. As a result she and her two kids have had to move houses time and again. Once they move into a beach cottage by Portland, Oregon he promises her they are done moving. And she's glad. She loves the view, the house. Their two daughters are in college on the east coast. Everything is going fine. Until her husband finally gets a big break and a huge new job in New York. Without consulting her. He's just so used to Birdie doing what he wants, that he never questions what SHE wants. Can their marriage weather this storm? Can she keep her dream home and rediscover her passions? Perfectly ok story. Ups and downs of a relationship. I think Kristin Hannah's newer stuff is a little more exciting.

Friday, March 27, 2020

142 Ostriches

Running an ostrich ranch in the unforgiving California desert is not how Tallulah Jones wants to spend the rest of her life. She's helped her grandmother run the ranch since she was thirteen years old, but she's finally ready to forge her own path and get out of the Mohave Desert. When her grandmother unexpectedly dies and leaves her the ranch she decides that she's going to sell the ranch even though it's the last thing her grandmother would have wanted. Unfortunately for Tallulah, that's when the ostriches mysteriously stop laying eggs and some unexpected relatives come to town. She must navigate not only her own emotions but those of her fragile and complicated family (birds and all). Brilliantly narrated by Sarah Mollo-Christensen, who deftly conveys the emotions of all the family members with ease and authority. Fraught with family struggles, addiction, duplicity, and deceit; this courageous coming of age story set in a unique and wonderful backdrop is one that readers won't soon forget.